Math Blogging Challenge

August 22, 2012 at 1:53 am 2 comments

One night while perusing through Tweets, edmodo posts, and linking up to others I stumbled upon a Blogging Challenge for math teachers.  I thought I’d join the challenge so that I could connect with others as well as learn more from math teachers who are reflecting on their practices.  I do love a good teacher reflection!  So the first challenge was to create a blog, I immediately was successful as I already had this one created!  Then I received an email with 4 possible questions to respond to in a blog post.  Here we are.

 Where does the name of your blog originate? Why did you choose that? (Bonus follow up: Why did you decide to blog?)

The Journey of Mathematics originates from my own journey as a math -a-phobe to a mathematician, and math coach.  If you’ve followed me here for awhile, if you know me personally, or if you’re lucky enough to work with me you know that my journey as an educator began with a one track mind for Language Arts.  I absolutely, positively never saw myself as a mathematical thinker.  I struggled tremendously as a student of math, and when I began teaching (3rd grade) I had to teach myself and ask mentors for help when it came to mathematical conceptual understanding.  Then after leaving the classroom full time to open a tutoring business, I was given the opportunity to work as a part time math coach in a Title I school.  I had all of the tools to be a mentor and coach to teachers, but I really had to embrace math and look for connections to ELA, and writing.  It has been an incredible journey that has transformed me into a mathematical thinker.  I continue to discover new ways to look at mathematics, and constantly am reminded that at probably no fault of their own, my teachers’ way of teaching me wasn’t a journey, it was just to get to the destination…. the right answer.  And that isn’t true mathematics at all!

I began blogging as a way of  sharing this journey with others who struggle in math, don’t think they are mathematicians, and who want to grow and learn so they can do better.  I also love to write, so this is my way of reflecting as a professional educator, in hopes of inspiring others to reflect on their practices.

Entry filed under: Reflections.

Reflection on My First Year Misconceptions

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. New Bloggers!! Hooray!!! « A Brand New Line  |  August 22, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    […] a blog named **The Journey of Mathematics**. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **Math Blogging Challenge“** and the author sums it up as follows: **This post summarizes how I titled my blog and why […]

    Reply
  • 2. Carby  |  August 22, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    That’s really cool that you started out teaching, became a tutor, then a math a coach! That’s a journey indeed! Good stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kristen Hahn

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Twitter Updates

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers


Math Minds

In Math, the Journey IS the Destination.

Catching Readers Before They Fall

Supporting Readers Who Struggle, K-4

Venspired

My journey from a Math-a-Phobe to a Mathematics Coach

