Reflection on My First Year

August 15, 2012 at 11:35 am 1 comment

As I approach the anniversary of my first year in my role as a district level math coach/administrator I have been reflecting on numerous things.  Although I’ve reflected along the way, recently I gave myself some quiet time to think about the celebrations and challenges of the last year because a new school year is about to begin, and teachers will be coming back to work looking for support.  None of my celebrations are because of acts I performed alone, there have been several people who have contributed to these successes, and I am constantly reminded of the teamwork and collaboration involved in my job!  

Celebrations

  • Building relationships with the schools I support (and more).
  • Supporting teachers in whatever way is necessary, their job is tough, and I take great pleasure in supporting them, and seeing them successful with students.
  • Learning the Common Core State Standards… I have so much more to learn, but I feel like I’m in a much better place than I was a year ago.

For every success I’ve experienced over the past year, I feel like I’ve had three times as many challenges. However, I think that the challenges are positive, and what have helped me to grow, and these keep me constantly hungry for more knowledge. 

Challenges

  • Politics. I don’t play politics very well, and I’m pretty much a straight shooter, however I’ve learned to keep my mouth closed and my ears open at all times.
  • Keep openings on my calendar in case of a last minute meeting that I’m required to attend.
  • Learning the shortest route between different schools.
  • Ask more questions than instantly giving input.
  • Working directly with students LESS (This is still a great challenge, because  I miss working directly with students the most)
  • People’s lack of professionalism (If only everyone would speak and act professionally)

So then, what have I learned over the past year from these celebrations and challenges? After all, the journey is about learning that occurs, to make educated  choices as I continue on the journey, and to know that I have more clarity going forward. I think I’ve definitely learned that I do aspire to be a school principal one day, that became crystal clear over the last few weeks.  I also learned that I’m often quick to make judgments, and I really need to work on that. I also learned a lot about my colleagues; such as they have the same vision and beliefs as me, we love to collaborate, and we have different strengths which nicely compliment one another.  Lastly, I’ve learned that life is more than my job. Don’t get me wrong, I’m passionate about my job, and I take every bit of it seriously, but there is more to the BIG PICTURE than my job, and when other things need my attention, it’s okay to give it.  I think I’ve achieved a pretty good balance in my life, but I once read something that said it’s not so much about balance, as it is about being content.  I am content. 

With the first day of school just around the corner, and teachers returning tomorrow, I’m thinking about the excitement of another “new beginning” and all that lies ahead.  There will be more celebrations, challenges, and lessons to learn; and THAT  is why I love being an educator!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

My Journey Continues Math Blogging Challenge

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Carby  |  August 22, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    That’s admirable that you are happy with what you’re doing. Too many people aren’t. And it’s good to not feel guilty if you do something that’s not school related. Gotta have a respite from the RTI’s and SST’s. Hopefully, you’ll get your principal position one day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kristen Hahn

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Twitter Updates

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers


Math Minds

In Math, the Journey IS the Destination.

Catching Readers Before They Fall

Supporting Readers Who Struggle, K-4

Venspired

My journey from a Math-a-Phobe to a Mathematics Coach

