My Journey Continues

August 11, 2012 at 11:34 am Leave a comment

As the beginning of another school year approaches, I’ve been reflecting on this journey I’ve “officially” been on for 13 years. Although I believe the journey began long before I started my teaching career. I’m considering renaming this blog, because it’s more than a journey of mathematics. This journey is about figuring out who I am as an educator, who I aspire to be as an educational leader. In 1999 when asked what my goals were, I could tell you I wanted to eventually do more than teaching in a classroom, but I couldn’t put my finger on exactly what that was. Over the years I’ve been told by several colleagues, mentors, and friends that I belong in administration. However, to me that wasn’t exactly what I could see myself doing, at least not in the traditional “administrator” role. On my journey I have learned that administration is not what it used to be, and principals specifically, are not just building managers. This makes sense, but it’s taken recent years and recent experiences to clearly see that maybe, that truly is the direction I’m headed. Becoming a principal, not a building manager.
I love all things about education, and with each new “era”, I’ve been inspired, intrigued, and excited. The more I work to build my PLN (Personal Learning Network) and connect with other like-minded leaders, I can visualize myself leading a school. I haven’t reached my destination yet, but I sure am more clear about what I want my focus to be.
Henry Miller said, “One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.”. This speaks so loudly to me about my own journey because I see so many different styles of ” administration” and understanding the need for instructional leaders, I can now see my own destiny.

Entry filed under: Reflections. Tags: , , .

The Beauty of Empowerment Reflection on My First Year

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kristen Hahn

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Twitter Updates

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers


Math Minds

In Math, the Journey IS the Destination.

Catching Readers Before They Fall

Supporting Readers Who Struggle, K-4

Venspired

My journey from a Math-a-Phobe to a Mathematics Coach

